High Baroque Triberg Pilgrimage Church

"Mary in the Fir Tree”

The roots of the pilgrimage in Triberg go back to 1644, the year in which little Barbara Franz was cured of her eye ailments by the water of a nearby spring. Just one year later, another miracle happened: the master tailor Friedrich Schwab was healed from his leprosy by washing himself with the spring water.

In gratitude, he placed a small statue of Mary in the hollow of a fir tree - hence the name of the church: "Mary in the Fir Tree”.

However, the statue fell into oblivion until 1692, when three Tyrolean soldiers rediscovered it. Their attention had been drawn to it by a lovely song. A wooden chapel and later a simple stone chapel were built until the present pilgrimage church was erected between 1699 and 1705.

In the church, the visitor is presented with baroque splendor. The high altar and the pulpit by the Villingen sculptor Schupp are particularly beautiful.

Among other things, the pilgrimage church houses one of the most important baroque altars in south-west Germany, a reliquary with a Roman emperor's daughter, real cannonballs as a reminder of a French siege, and a valuable altarpiece donated by the "Turk Louis".

Download Flyer (PDF 1,76 MB)

Next to the pilgrimage church, in a charming location, is the sacristan's cottage. The small half-timbered house is the second oldest building in Triberg and dates back to 1697. The sacristan's house not only served as a residence for the sacristan, but also for the respective pilgrimage brother and the clergyman.

In 1913, the town acquired the little house and built Triberg's first museum of local history, until 1940, when the church became the owner again.

For more information about the pilgrimage church and the other Catholic parishes in Triberg.


Parish Office of the Catholic Pastoral Community " Mary in the Fir Tree”
Turntalstraße 2
78136 Schonach
Phone: +49 (0) 7722 5313