Seite drucken
Stadt Triberg (Druckversion)

The gallows

The gallows of Triberg

"It must have been almost a pleasure to die on the gallows in Triberg."
(„Stuttgarter Zeitung“ -  11th of July 1962)

In the early year, the regnancy of Triberg had a gallow in a particularly charming spot. Here, where the frontiers of different places encounter, executions were carried out until 1776.

The Triberg gallows
The Triberg gallows
Gallows info board
Gallows info board

Already in 1349, in Triberg existed a gallow. At its present location, 1020 m.o.s. in the European North Sea watershed / Black Sea, a map of the first Benedictine monastery of St. Georgen shows gallows with two hanged men, at the end of the 16th Century. The Villinger “Pirschgerichtskarte” even has two wooden gallows on the "Dreyberghöhe".

In the district of Nußbach, in the year 1721 the stone neck court was built. The prominent place of execution at the "apex Alemanniens" was  a visible sign of the beginning of the jurisdiction of the Austrian Upper Bailiwick Triberg for all passers. Until the abolition of the death of Emperor Joseph II (1786), two hangings are famous. The bodies of the hanged men were burried by the "Carnifex Trimontanus", the Triberger executioner.

The historic gallows can be found on the “Kreisstraße K 5728 Schoenwald Villingen” between the parking place “Stöcklewald” and the turnoff to St. Georgen and Furtwangen-Rohrbach.

http://www.triberg.de/index.php?id=286